About us

Who was Portscapes 2?

Portscapes 2 was a Port of Rotterdam Authority initiative developed with advice from SKOR | Foundation Art and Public Domain. Since July 2012, the TAAK cooperation was responsible for the content development of the Portscapes 2 project.   

The Port of Rotterdam Authority initiated Portscapes in response to the start of construction on the port expansion: Maasvlakte 2. 2009 served as a trial year in this context. In a continuation of this pilot year, in the period 2011-2013, the Port Authority commissioned each year an art project. Maasvlakte 2 is primarily intended for container transshipment, the chemical industry and distribution activities. The Port of Rotterdam Authority is the manager, operator and developer of the Rotterdam port and industrial area. The ambition is to make Maasvlakte 2 the most sustainable port area in the world 
www.portofrotterdam.com
www.maasvlakte2.com

SKOR | Stichting Kunst en Openbare Ruimte was a nationally operating organisation that developed unique art projects in relation to public spaces. SKOR coached and advised organisations that wanted to display art in a public location and, where necessary, provided financial support. SKOR focused on the interaction between art, client, location and audience  
www.skor.nl

TAAK is an international platform that develops innovative art and educational programs addressing societal issues. TAAK puts subjects of public interest on the agenda and develops innovative strategies and perspectives on a changing world. By mobilizing artists, organizations and citizens on certain issues, TAAK studies how new forms of social initiative and citizenship can develop. TAAK has two branches: .Make and .Learn. .Make develops art projects for and with partners. .Learn develops educational activities and studies new forms of knowledge transfer.
www.taak.me

 

Colofon

Port of Rotterdam Authority

Coordination and contact:
Ria Haagsma
ria.haagsma@portofrotterdam.com
Media
Sjaak Poppe
sjaak.poppe@portofrotterdam.com

SKOR | Stichting Kunst en Openbare Ruimte

Curator
Theo Tegelaers
theo@taak.me

Communication
Christiane Bosman
christiane@taak.me
Sophia Zürcher
sophia@taak.me

Projectmanager
Simone Kleinhout
simone@simonekleinhout.nl 

Design: Ben Laloua/Didier Pascal with Marius Hofstede
Programming: Nick Koning